Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Introductions for New Members

AlzWife2023
AlzWife2023 Member Posts: 234
100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Likes First Anniversary

Welcome to the group. I started it today.

As is often said on the forums: sorry for the reason you are here be but glad you found us.

I’m a 51 yo wife and caregiver of a man with Alzheimer’s. I’ve been caregiving full-time for him for almost two years and I no longer work outside the home. I will begin working virtually part-time in September.

Let’s all introduce ourselves here and anyone can start a new discussion thread to address any specific topic.

Comments

• SueKat
    SueKat Member Posts: 1
    First Comment
    Hello. I am new here. I'm 55 yo wife of DH diagnosed with vascular dementia. I am still able to leave him at home by himself at the moment. His long term memory is still good but short term is not. This is a new journey and I welcome and look forward to any stories from others on how they cope with issues arising from dementia, such as irritability, fixation, protecting them from doing things you know they can no longer do but feels they can, etc.
  • Sunshine-kes
    Sunshine-kes Member Posts: 2
    First Comment
    Hello, I am new here too and your story is extremely similar.

I am a 54 yo wife of DH with Alzheimer’s. He was diagnosed three years ago at the age of 64.

I can still leave him at home but he does get confused and forgets where I am and where he is. He still drives although I am limiting that more and more. I work out of the home 2 days a week. Those days he calls me 25 times a day.