Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

I'm a chicken and trying to face it

M1
M1 Member Posts: 6,722
1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

I hate trying to hire people, period.  I'm not good at it, not a good bargainer, hate talking to people on the phone that I don't know.  I've had several responses to my companion ad on care.com and feel obligated to respond at least to the ones that are covid vaccinated.  Almost wish now I'd never posted it.  There is no emergency, as Jo said, and I feel more comfortable looking by word of mouth and through the local art college (got a nice response there too though finding a student during the summer may not pan out).  Even posting this serves to procrastinate.  I'm aware of my own weakness in this area.  Time to gut up.

Meanwhile we're going to try a phone call or Face Time tomorrow.  I doubt it will yield any different results.  But I did get an email from one other spouse--turns out we know lots of people in common, and she remembers my partner from her building days and even when she ran a local craft shop in the late sixties/early seventies.  At least she may be able to give me some independent reports as she's at the MC several times a week.

Seventh week now-tenth if you include the hospitalization--and I'm lonely as hell.  Emotionally this is getting harder, not easier.

Comments

• TheMonck
    TheMonck Member Posts: 15
    10 Comments First Anniversary

You aren't chicken.Sounds to me like you are charging full steam ahead.

You are doing your best and like most women you have no quit in you.I admire 

you.

• jfkoc
    jfkoc Member Posts: 3,768
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions

No, you are not "chicken". Likely overwhelmed, sad, angry, stressed and frustrated. There is no way on earth that dealing with a situation that is a crap shoot where even the best choice is not one you want is a killer.