Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New(1)

Hello, I am new to AlzConnect and having trouble finding anyone out there to chat with about caring for my spouse. Thanks if you can help.

Comments

• Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes
    rabjand, Welcome and sorry that you needed to seek us out. The are lots of great people here with lots of wisdom they are willing to share. Feel free to as any questions you have, there is probably extremely little that someone else on this site has not been through.
  • rebjand
    rebjand Member Posts: 6
    Second Anniversary First Comment

thank you for answering me! That is progress. Hard to navigate this site. I am growing more impatient with my LO as the days progress. 

• Joe C.
    One of the challenges of this journey is trying not to get frustrated with our LOs. They may have little or no comprehension to what is happening and we constantly have to adjust our expectations & approach as time goes on. For example, today I am putting curtain on our bathroom mirror because DW no longer recognizes her reflection and does not want to undress in front of “those people”. We are in our 8th year of this journey and it has been a continuous process of adjusting and adapting. If you have specific question or concern do not hesitate to ask.
  • 60 falcon
    60 falcon Member Posts: 201
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Likes

Hi rebjand. I agree with what Joe C. said.  You'll get used to the way to navigate around this website.  There's so much to read and learn from.  At first I found it depressing to read about all the things we're going to be dealing with, although every situation is different and our loved ones may not experience all the things you'll read about.  Now, instead of getting depressed from what I read here, I am comforted knowing I'm not alone.