Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

With Peewee decline I am going to be forced into early retirement.

I just don't see any other way around it. So here's my plan. In April I am going to tell the social security office of my intent to retire I will be 62 in July. I just can't work and pay someone else to come in my home and watch my Peewee.

I had these people living in an old mobile home in my back yard. They were helping me with Peewee for Rent. However the Lady Passed away a year ago. And now the man thinks he has colon cancer.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,710
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions
    Big decision obviously, for lots of reasons.  Sounds like you're thinking it through--have you run the numbers to see what impact it's going to have for you financially over the next few years?  I'm no expert, it may be worth getting professional advice on this if you can/have time.
  • Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions
    I agree with M1. You need someone who can help you with this. The Social Security office should be able to help with that.You will have to understand what the difference will be if you retire now, or in a year or two. Then you will need to have some type of understanding what it will cost you to live.
  • Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,399
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions
    Question- are you immediately going to start your social security?  If not, you don’t need to tell them if you retire.  I retired in December  at 62, but I’m going to delay SS. Instead I am going to take money out of my IRA for a few years.  I don’t want to take 25%+  the hit on my SS benefit. Our financial advisor agrees with this.
  • terei
    terei Member Posts: 567