Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Just someone to talk to about Dementia

Lp57$
Lp57$ Member Posts: 34
10 Comments Second Anniversary
Hi I am new to this and have not joined a support group until now. My DH has Parkinson’s with Dementia.  He started getting Parkinson’s symptoms around 55 and finally after starting to have hallucinations he had to go to the ER. That was in 2019. So he did not do anything about this until about 6 years, he was scared. He has always been scared of needles and doctors. Anyway after he went to the ER they put him on Carbidopa Levodopa which helped so much with the tremors. They put him on Trazandone to help him sleep because they thought he was just sleep deprived and that is what was triggering the hallucinations. Well it helped for a little while and we had to see a new doctor. I will say one that cared more than the other. This doctor put him on Neoplazid and it started to work. I no longer worry about sleeping in the bed with him and he not accusing me of having a man in the bed with me. That was heartbreaking, but now the neoplazid is not workin.  The doctor has put him on another drug called seroquel.   He has been on that for a couple of days it does help him sleep. Now here is the bad part. He started getting dementia last year.  I have never know anyone who has had it but a lot people have said it is terrible and they are right!!  I have been accused of playing tricks, he has been aggressive because he thought I was someone else! He see me as my sister, brother and a daughter!!  I don’t know what role to play anymore. I don’t want to ask who do u think I am???  I am doing the best I can but it is hard!!  Last year was hard which I know it was for everyone because of the Covid.  Last year our house burned down, my mother died, his brother died and now he has dementia..  Any advice on how to handle this would be appreciated.. thanks

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084