Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Venting & Update

Background - I'm 53, DH is 57. Diagnosed over 5 years ago. Stage 6. I'm a teacher, we've been in person since the beginning of this school year.

DH can't be home alone. I've figured a plan for someone to always be with him, but it requires me to rush home from school. I can't work with DH around, he doesn't leave me alone at all. It's one constant thing after another. Seriously - I timed it and the longest I've had today is 6 minutes without him asking me to do something. Like helping him find the bathroom. I can't just ignore that.

My Friday afternoon person just quit. I don't have any way to fill that time. I took last Friday off, but that's not a long term solution. I feel like I'm drowning right now. I can't keep up with school and home. My head feels like it's buzzing. 

Feeling a bit better just getting that out. Thanks for listening.

Comments

• John1965
    John1965 Member Posts: 104
    Eighth Anniversary 10 Comments
    Talk with your HR department and let them know your situation. They may be able to help.
  • French
    French Member Posts: 445
    100 Comments Second Anniversary

Hi Josey. Yes I can understand. even if my partner lets me working at home, I feel stressed because sometimes I hear him going out when he shouldn’t. Is there any adult daycare near you ? If they are open. Daycare saves my life... and my children ones also. Everybody appreciates the 2 days when he is at the daycare. Even he really likes it. Tuesday and Wednesday are certainly his favorite days. He has friends at the daycare.

I am now thinking that people should think to daycare before being without any solution because it is better to go there when they still can benefit from the activities 

• Oines51
    Oines51 Member Posts: 3
    Fourth Anniversary First Comment