Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Understanding vascular cognitive impairment

Is there anyone here who has experience with vascular dementia? 

Last July (2020)  my husband was diagnosed with Mild Cognitive Impairment. He started recognizing his short-term memory issues around February, 2020. I had been documenting his issues since 2018, though. But, I think they started well before then. There have bee gradual changes.

I spoke to his doctor around 2017 about my concerns. The doctor’s response at that time was that when my husband started recognizing the problem, we could come in together. Three years later, he was diagnosed....

He had an MRI, which showed small vessel changes. But, the neurologist could only diagnose MCI. She said there is a fine line between MCI and dementia. But, she did tell me recently that it would eventually lead to dementia. My husband would need more extensive testing to allow a name to be assigned to his condition. He is refusing to do that (even for me, as I have asked) because he is afraid the doctor will say he cannot drive anymore....

Besides his short-term memory issues (where he asks me the same thing several times), his big problem has to do with money — balancing the checkbook, and really comprehending anything to do with money. He refuses to allow me to help him pay bills. When asked why, he told me that I do too much already, but told the neurologist that it was his personality (that is more like it).  He has paid bills twice, and/or has entered a transaction twice in Quicken (where he has to keep track of every cent he spends and on what)... THAT I certainly do not want to do! 

He used to do our taxes, but several years ago, he said he can’t do it anymore. I think his cognitive issues may have started back then....