Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

46th wedding anniversary

Crushed
Crushed Member Posts: 1,442
Tenth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions

This week is the 46th anniversary of our wedding. I have fully accepted that our marriage partnership has been over for almost three years. I brought her cake for the week on Saturday. The sadness is overwhelming.  
1971 I knew her , she was occasionally dating my roommate.  DW turned 19
1981 She was a Physician We were trying to have children.   DW turned 29
1991 She had a marvelous new job, I was a full professor and life was golden. DW was 39
2001 Our oldest went to College and we had a bright future.  DW was 49
2011 The future  had crashed and burned and I was salvaging the bits and pieces  DW was 59
2021  DW has gone and left a shell that walks  and eats but is not her. DW is 69

I  know you all suffer too

Comments

• LadyTexan
    LadyTexan Member Posts: 810
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes

I am so sorry that such a beautiful love story was devastated by Alzheimer's. It is so sad that you and your wife have been robbed of the happily ever after.

My heart hurts for you.

• Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes
    Crushed, So sorry you are facing this milestone alone. Hang in there.
  • ladyzetta
    ladyzetta Member Posts: 1,028
    Seventh Anniversary 1000 Comments 25 Likes 5 Insightfuls Reactions

Dear Crushed,

You love your wife so much and it shows. Please remember she was a very lucky lady to have someone like you in her life. Be proud of all the love and care you are giving her. I am sure she would be telling you that if she could. Hugs to you both. Zetta 

• Pam BH
    Pam BH Member Posts: 195
    100 Comments Second Anniversary