Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New Here(14)

Tarri
Tarri Member Posts: 8
First Comment First Anniversary

Hello.  I'm new to this space.  The message board, and the world of living with this ugly disease.  My 58 year old husband started acting "out of character" a couple years ago, and progressed to the point of me being ready for a new life.  My best friend convinced me that perhaps he needed some medical help.  Several months of tests and appointments and we received the life altering diagnosis of Alzheimer's.  I don't know how to do this.  I hate it.  It hurt.  I'm lonely.  I miss the man I married and shared my life with, and I constantly feel guilty for those feelings because I can't imagine how terrifying it is to be him.  

Some days are ok, some are not.  None are what they used to be. And I am terrified of our future.  My once loving and attentive husband is distant, dismissive, selfish, angry, obsessive and sometimes aggressive.  I feel like the retirement we have been looking forward to for so long has completely disappeared from sight and has been replaced with a nightmare.  And then comes the guilt for feeling like that.  Am I the most selfish person there is?

Comments

• June45
    June45 Member Posts: 364
    Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Care Reactions

Tarri,

I am glad that you have found Alzconnected. I think everybody here remembers how they felt when they finally found out what was wrong with their loved one. All that you are feeling is spot on. There will be others here who will tell you the practical things you need to do...listen to their advice.  The only advice I will give you for now is to let go of the guilt! You are not selfish!!!!

• Tarri

June45,

Thank you. I tell myself that guilt is a wasted emotion, but I’m not very good at listening.  

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions