Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Finding Hope

I am new to this journey and to this forum. I have appreciated comments from others who are feeling what I am feeling. While my family is very supportive, they aren't "in the trenches" 24/7. My husband was diagnosed with MCI in June, 2018, one month after my much-anticipated retirement. I initially felt cheated to finally be ready to spend our golden years together, only to have it snatched away. At the same time, I believed that it was God's perfect timing. There is no way I could have continued to work and leave my husband at home alone.

He has progressed in his diagnosis to early Alzheimers.With each new setback, I felt more and more cut off from the rest of the world emotionally. My future seemed so bleak. Finding this online group has been a blessing. Realizing how much worse it's going to be, I am choosing to be happy where we are and to cherish these days. I cannot change the future, but I can choose how to manage my present.

One very powerful inspiration to me has been a book by author, Max Lucado, entitled "Unshakable Hope." I checked it out from my local library. He has many inspirational books, but this one touched me personally. I would highly recommend it to anyone who struggles with handling a bleak future.

Comments

• elainechem
    elainechem Member Posts: 153
    Legacy Membership 100 Comments 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions
    Welcome to the group, although I'm very sorry for the reason that you are here. I am an alumnus of this horrible disease. My hubby died in February, 2020 after suffering for 8 1/2 years. He was 65. I really believe that the only reason that I'm still here is that the Lord was carrying me through.
  • Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions