Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

support in finding hospice for husband with dementia

My husband's doctors have said I need to plan for the future and locate hospice,  So far I have gotten a list of hospices in my area from ALZ Association and downloaded their document on choosing an in-home care provider.  I have no one to discuss this with or get local references from someone who has used any of the hospices on the list.  Essentially, I am overwhelmed.  Besides "hang-in-there", does anyone have any personal experience with this?

Comments

• anneleigh
    anneleigh Member Posts: 65
    Fourth Anniversary 10 Comments

I am fairly new with Hospice care for 2 months for my hubby.  The first company I called we had a visit and the nurse said my husband qualified, only to learn 2 weeks later another visit was needed and 2 nurses evaluated my DH and said DH did not qualify.  It was a bit disappointing but I reached out to a different company a month or so later and had success with VITAS.  The administrator had my husband at 7a on the FAST scale for dementia.