Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New to Alz Caregiving

I am in the process of moving my girlfriend from Fresno, CA to Rochester, NY. I'm driving out to get her and pack what we can in a small trailer. In the process of finding an apartment, getting her into PACE and Medicaid, opening a pooled trust account, etc. It's a lot. I am truly at peace with the decision. She is in the middle of moderate. 

Conversations are like a merry-go-round. Same topic goes around and comes back. I make her laugh every day when we talk to diffuse her depression about being stuck in Fresno for 2 years after some surgery right before the COVID lockdown. She was living in Mexico for the past 5 years. Her daughter brought her to Fresno for the surgery. Her daughter lives in Sweden.

I am new to caregiving and the Alz. Assoc. My brother-in-law also has moderate AD here in town, so will be helping there, too.

I moved home to Rochester in 2019 and made it on time to have unexpected surgery followed by the Lockdown. I'm now relearning Rochester, finding old friends, and looking for new ones. I'll be at the Walk on Saturday as a volunteer and walking at least part of the track. If you are from Rochester, come find me!

Comments

• Arrowhead
    Arrowhead Member Posts: 361
    Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Likes

It looks like you’re going to have your hands full. It’s hard enough helping someone who lives in your home. I can’t imagine doing it from so far apart. Even though you’re not looking for advice at this time, I decided to answer so that you will know that there will always be someone on this form who understands and cares.

• loveskitties
    loveskitties Member Posts: 1,073
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

Carol,

I wish you luck, but it seems you are taking on a lot in a short period of time.