Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Sometimes things go very quickly downhill

My DH passed on September 28th from ALZ, more specifically, aspiration pneumonia and AFIB. He had been in memory care only 2 months when they found him lying on his bed, unable to talk or swallow or walk. They called 911. He had had an AFIB episode that left him with only 45% capacity in his heart, which meant little blood getting to major organs, especially kidneys. The doctor recommended comfort care (hospice), since he was DNR, and I agreed. He lasted a few days, but never woke up. Our daughters were with me and we got to say goodbye, even if he wasn't responsive. I like to think he heard us, even in his damaged brain.

Before this episode, he had been talking some and walking and eating. But this just pushed him over the edge. 

So we've had the funeral and now I learn to live as a widow. I already felt I had been doing everything already for many years. He was first diagnosed in November 2016, but he showed signs in 2013. So, about 8 years. The last couple were the hardest. 

It is a blessing for both of us. I never had to puree foods, feed him, or deal with diapers.  He never tried calling me from MC, because he had stopped using a phone months before, plus he always lost it in the house. I miss the person I married, and I have our good memories and our wonderful daughters and grandchildren. 

I appreciate this forum for all that I learned and shared these past few years. It was definitely helpful. Best of luck to everyone. 

Comments

• amicrazytoo
    amicrazytoo Member Posts: 169
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Comments
    Sorry for your loss, but glad you have many good memories. may you have peace and feel comfort in the days ahead.
  • Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes
    My condolences on the loss of your husband. May you find some peace in the days ahead.
  • Ed1937