Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

MIL Problems

Kevcoy
Kevcoy Member Posts: 129
Fourth Anniversary 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

I've often heard it said that with some people with dementia they want to "go home" but the home is where they grew up and were young.  Or they believe their mother is still alive but in reality they have deceased.  I haven't seen much about how people deal with issues when their LO's, in this case, mother is still alive and very much intrusive in our lives.  I work full time as a substitute teacher but am home usually no later then 3pm.  I can always tell when my MIL has come by to see her son because my DH starts talking to me about things like:

My mom said,

you are taking money out of our joint account and keeping it for yourself.

I need to get your name off the house because you are planning on selling it and kicking me out.

you are having an affair,