Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Michiganpat and other new members

Ed1937
Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

First of all, welcome to the forum. Sorry any of you have to be here, but you will find it a very valuable site.

This is just a little information on the shortcomings of this site. On another thread, michiganpat wrote "I am new to site also. I wrote out a long message (my first one) but when I tried to post I got an error message. Very disheartening as I also lost what I wrote and needed to start over."  This is a shortcoming of the software on the forums. You might sign in, read some threads, then decide to make a post. You will get to the page where you can write what you want to post, but then get the error message when you hit the "Post" button.. This almost always means that you are no longer logged in, although there is no way for you to know that until you try to post. If you have been logged in for some time without posting, you might be logged out, even though this is not supposed to happen. This happens every so often, and most times it is not problematic. I think this happens more often when you might have been logged in on this site, but leave for another site, then come back. But it can happen anytime. Sometimes when I make a fairly long post, I'll copy it before I hit the "Post" button. That way if I get the error, I can log in again, then paste whatever I wanted to post. Just wanted to let you know what might happen.

Comments

• Jo C.
    Jo C. Member Posts: 2,916
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions 100 Likes

Anyone who loses their Post when trying to Post; and sometimes we  get an "error message," even if we have not timed out . . . . please go to to top of the page and click on the "Contact Us" prompt and leave a message for Technical.