Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Demanding something be done immediately

I am still new to learning a lot about dealing with my partner's dementia.  He has an MRI done next month and then we meet with the geriatric psychiatrist for some insight as to what type, how far the progression is, and what the future may hold.

I had a very busy day today trying to take down Christmas decorations, make dog food and do laundry.  In the middle of this Dave decided that the back seat from our van needed to go back into the van because "that's where it belongs".  It's been out of the van in the utility room for years because he carried samples in the van when he was working and had no room for it.  

I told him that I would be there in a couple of minutes and then I heard him dragging almost everything out of the utility room, stuff that didn't need to come out, and cursing as he threw it all over the garage and driveway.  Then he came back in the house and demanded that I hook up the pressure washer because he needed to pressure wash the driveway.  I explained that the doctors had not cleared him yet to do any work with equipment because his balance and gait are so bad.

With that he started ordering me around, what to do, how to do it, etc.  I bit my tongue and tried to ignore his attitude and gently suggested an easier way to accomplish the task.  The seat is back in the van and he is now back in the house in front of the TV totally forgetting all of the stuff that he dragged out of the utility room that needs to be put back.  That's OK, I'll get that done.  I realize the short term memory is not there.

Bottom line is I guess when it comes to planning my day I had better be VERY flexible or is there a way to communicate that the task he wants done can wait for another more convenient time?  I tried suggesting another day but he was not having any of that.  It had to be done now.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Jim