Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Breaking things

I awoke this morning to find an African carved spoon, I collect African masks and art, broken and thrown into the garbage. My husband has started to yell, make really strange noises and smash things. I was too late getting to a well loved Korean mask, he had pitched it in the garbage. To say I was upset was an understatement. He apologized but to me it is meaningless, he forgot he even did it moments ago. I was able to rescue the pieces of my spoon and glue it back together, but honestly felt quite violated.

I know I am supposed to be understanding but I am getting quite tired of this sh--. I have started to clear the house of all breakables and have hidden them away. Being a designer, I love looking at my tchotchkes because they inspire me to do design. 

Thanks for listening. Off to lick my wounds.

Comments

• Paris20
    Paris20 Member Posts: 502
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Likes 5 Care Reactions
    Buggsroo, you have every right to feel as you do. I go through similar emotions when my husband has his loony moments. In the last several months, when he sees an upsetting story on the news, he starts talking about taking a gun (we have none) and putting those a-holes in their place. He sounds like a dumb fool, the opposite of who he used to be. It makes me crazy. He has lost two gold wedding rings so I bought two cheap versions at WalMart. He has lost both of them too, so now I lie and tell him he put his ring upstairs. I know these behaviors are the manifestation of their broken brains but the loss of your precious possessions must really hurt. I’m sorry for your losses…all of them.
  • Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,404
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions