Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Finances and dementia

Crushed
Crushed Member Posts: 1,442
Tenth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions

We quite properly talk about the legal documents required in a dementia case and yes they are important.  But just as important is realistic financial planning.  Dementia patients require supervision and eventually 24/7/365 care The cost of that care , one way or another, falls overwhelmingly on families unless and until they are placed with medicaid 

The minimum estimate of the annual cost of dementia care is $50,000.  When  I was a Professor in Consumer Economics we used to calculate family labor , the imputed value of housing cash income etc.  What we found was disturbing.  Families routinely tried to keep their standard of living up despite the dementia and the  huge future uninsured costs down the line.   They depleted savings and ran up debts. They did not do dementia financial planning

I have had to tell many people that a dementia diagnosis means that you have become instantly poorer than you ever imagined.  For myself I never imagined we would be paying $150,000 dollars a year for DW's care.  I had wonderful golden retirement plans for that money.  fortunately I was already mostly retired when she was diagnosed so for 7 years I could provide the care DW needed.  We did spend a lot on travel.  

The day after a diagnosis you start Medicaid planning unless  you have a LOT  

of money to set aside for your LO care.   How much?  3-500,000
   above what you need for yourself if you got just as sick   That is apart from your house which is considered separately (social security and pensions can be analyzed as part of it. 

The state you live in is critical NO ONE CAN ADVISE YOU ON MEDICAID WITHOUT KNOWING WHAT STATE YOU LIVE IN  

Please please PLEASE PUT IT IN YOU PROFILE  

If your LO is not a spouse put it in your profile   it makes a big difference.