Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

DAY CARE CENTER FOR A DEMENTIA PATIENT

Thank you all for your advise.  You all, of course, are right.  I will start a new post somewhere here, I am still learning about this website. Good luck to all of us.  I am exhausted right now ... .

Hello all.  I hope you guys are fine.  I joined because I am a little bit desperate.  I am new to this, taking care of my husband for the last two years full time and alone.  Things are becoming very, very difficult since his aggressiveness has increased, and I am at a loss. What to do?  I live in East South Florida, and dont know how to even begin to find a good place for him to go at lease several hours a week to a day care center, where his mind can be engaged for a few a hours, and I can have some hours for me.  I am so afraid of those places.  Only by word of mouth you sometimes know about the right place.  If this is the wrong forum, please forgive me.  And, how to deal with his sudden outbursts, when he starts to hit me?  My arms are all black and green, and he likes to sink his nails in my hands and arms.  I want to cry so loud.  What has been your experience about this?  and what to do?!  thank you.

Comments

• loveskitties
    loveskitties Member Posts: 1,073
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

You need to call 911 when he attacks you.  They will come and he can be put in hospital for determination of meds to get rid of the agression.

No matter that his brain is broken, you can not allow his physical attacks.

Protect yourself.

• Stuck in the middle
    Stuck in the middle Member Posts: 1,167
    1000 Comments Fifth Anniversary 5 Care Reactions 5 Likes

I agree.  He can't go to day care if he's violent.  That has to be controlled first, before he seriously hurts you or someone else.