Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Is this typical?

ElCy
ElCy Member Posts: 151
Fourth Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Likes 5 Care Reactions

My DH will talk at length to any stranger. He rolls down the window and stop to speak to neighbors walking dogs and always days the same thing “I don’t trust people who don’t like dogs.”

In restaurants he always tell the waiter he wants to be smarter and  taller. He tips cashiers at Cracker Barrel and can talk for ages about anything. He stops every mother and tells them their child is a TV star.

But DH has completely stopped talking to his friends.

Comments

• Lills
    Lills Member Posts: 156
    Sixth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Care Reactions

What stage is your DH in?

I may be way off base here...but my DH also used to go up to strangers and tell people I was a German teacher, etc. He was an introvert so it was really out of character for him to be so outgoing.  Fast forward:  He was diagnosed as having Frontotemporal Dementia (FTD).  Yes, he would shy away from his friends too.  I think he was at the stage in which he was aware he didn't remember their names, etc.  Also, he didn't care; his empathy for others was totally lost.    FTD is often confused with Alzheimer's Disease.  Physician's assume it's Alz. 

Two years before my DH was officially diagnosed with FTD, I bought a book from Amazon, "What If It's NOT Alzheimer's".  Some of his behaviors just did not seem like Alz.  

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,717
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions
    ElCy, I think there are certain speech patterns that get played like a broken record.  They are familiar circuits that don't require any thought.  My partner cannot interact in most social situations any more--she finds them confusing and can't follow conversations--but there are few things that get repeated and repeated and repeated.   That's probably what you're seeing.
  • A. Marie