Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Where to start?(1)

Hello everyone, 

I am new to this association and new to having a loved one with this disease. Long story short, we (the family) weren’t aware of my father’s condition until very recent following his third stroke in October 2021. It appears dementia sped up a bit more since then. 

I am reaching out for help where to start. 

I am the oldest of my siblings (31 y.o) and in a better place than everyone financially. Currently living with my fiancé and cats, though we’re planning to start a family later this year. 

I am originally from NYC which is where my family all lives. The plan was originally to wait for my dad’s benefits to kick in so he can move on his own in NYC with assisted living. Currently he’s staying with his brother whom I just learned has been stealing money from my father. Whole other story. The more I think of it the more it makes sense to me for him to move south near me. I’d still like to get him his own place, with assisted living. Because I’m the oldest of my siblings, a lot of the “domestic” things doesn’t bug me. And so cooking, cleaning, and running errands for or with my dad would be fun for me honestly. 

He visited me once this past Christmas and stayed for a couple weeks until end of December, and he hated it. He doesn’t like the suburban life, thought it was too quiet, and missed the city. Even though I told him “he doesn’t do anything in NYC anyways , all he does is watch tv” lol.