Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Not nearly prepared

Kevcoy
Kevcoy Member Posts: 129
Fourth Anniversary 25 Care Reactions 10 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions

I'm a substitute teacher and this morning I noticed was the first day the sun was coming over the mountains to the east.  As I was crossing in the cross walk from the parking lot to the school I looked to my right and thought, that SUV isn't going to stop for me so I started running and barely missing getting hit.  The lady gave me a, sorry the sun was in my eyes and I didn't see you.

Right then and there I thought what if I had been hit?  What if I were injured or even killed?  What would happen to my DH?  Who would take care of him?  Where would he live?  I realized then and there that I'm not nearly prepared enough for a worse case scenario.  I also realized I'm not some kind of super hero and that everything can change in an instant.  What are some of the precautions you have taken for your loved one's care if something should happen to you?  How do you start this process and what's involved?  We have no children just my husband's brother and his crazy mother who live in town.  This has gotten me shaken.

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

What a wake up call! There is no doubt that every one of us should have at least a "Plan B" in place. I am fortunate in that I have a large family, and there will be no problem if I should have a fatal heart attack today. One daughter and her husband said they would take my wife into their home. But if that was not a workable solution, she would be the one I'd want calling the shots. I told her I did not want her family to be ripped apart if the worst should happen. 

I don't have any good solutions for you, but I'm sure others will chime in on this. Maybe you should talk to his brother to get his input on this?

• DrinaJGB