Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Grateful to all on this forum

My beloved DH, husband of 54 years, partner in so many happy memories and the love of my life, passed away last night after his battle with Lewy Body.

I am not good at writing and participating in these types of things, but I read every day the experiences and tips that so many of you so generously and eloquently shared.  I think you may have saved my life, and helped me to care for him much longer than I would otherwise have been able to, as we dealt with almost exactly all of the problems you discussed, and it was a comfort to feel that I was not alone.

He was diagnosed in 2018, but looking back there were signs for many years before that.  I was able to care for him until this last December when he became more physical in rejecting my help with bowel incontinence.  We live in a rural area where there is no help available, so after a 2 week hospitalization for another problem, I had to let them place him in a nursing home.  The only available bed was 180 miles away, which was heartbreaking, but it fortunately turned out to be a lovely place with wonderful people working there.  He was immediately placed in Hospice, and with their extra compassionate care I felt more comfortable with the situation.  I was only able to visit once a week, but the Hospice and other staff kept me updated at all times.  They called me when the time was getting close and I was able to stay in a hotel there to be with him his last few days.