Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New Here…

I’m new to your page and I’m looking for folks in my situation. My wife is 51 and I’m 44. She has recently been diagnosed with Vascular Dementia. Along with that she has a number of other issues all related to her diabetes. My wife had her first stroke three years ago, since then she’s had several small ones. The first took most of her eye sight and left her with deficiencies on her right leg and arm. The stroke has changed her personality, sometimes she can be cruel towards one daughter but not the other. I’ve noticed a change in her behaviour over the past year, it started with talking to people that weren’t there about a year ago. These days she spaces out most time, can’t remember how to dress herself or wash herself. When she comes back out of the trance like state she gets angry and frustrated - understandably. I’ve reached out for help and it looks as though she maybe at the point for LTC but I’m feeling extremely guilty, she’s only 51! I don’t sleep full nights, I work full time and I’m always trying to tend to her - I’m tired. I don’t think she can be in the house by herself safely anymore and our insurance can’t cover someone there more than 5 hours a day. This sucks.

Comments

• 60 falcon
    60 falcon Member Posts: 201
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Likes
    Hi Curtis.  Welcome.  What a tough spot you and your family are in, I'm sorry.  There are lots of supportive and experienced folks here. I'm sure others will come in.  This is a great place to vent, learn, and to ask questions.
  • Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions