Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Tough decision

As i posted 2 weeks ago i finally made the decision to place my DW in a MC home. Beautiful place and highly recommended. My wife and i have been joined at the hip for 50 years now. Her memory is very bad and she does not recognize our daughter at all and daily she doesnt remember who i am, then remembers and hugs me and says please never leave me. I have been caring for her for 11 years now and my health is going to be an issue soon. After considering the benefits to her and my health we finally placed her on May 4. First late afternoon they said she was kicking the door to try and get out and verbally trying to get people to let her out. Next day they said she stopped that but put her things in a trash bag and was walking the halls trying to go home, which she was starting to do at home also. Its so hard to hear that, but i guess for many the transition can be difficult. I am hoping after some time i can visit her and that this will help her but am afraid i will only make matters worse if i visit at this point, its only been 3 days. I love her so much and can barely stand this but we cannot care for her at home anymore in a quality way at home. Since i am alone here it is extremely difficult to hear these things and keep from running over there and getting her and bringing her home. I am really torn and am in anguish hourly over the transition. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Comments

• June45
    June45 Member Posts: 365
    Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Insightfuls Reactions 5 Care Reactions
    Chris, every time you want to run over there to bring her home, stop and remember what it was like when she was home. Think really hard about it. Many times I wanted to bring my husband home and I stopped and thought of those months of no sleep when he was home. This is a very hard and painful decision. Probably best to not go over there yet.
  • ladyzetta