Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

DH stuck in repetitive behavior

Hi Everyone!  I'm new at this and this is my first time on any kind of a message board, so I'm also a little scared.  My DH was diagnosed with FTD last year caused by a severe case of lead poisoning.  I'm his sole caregiver.  Our friends have all drifted away and our families all live quite far from us.  So there's no one to help.  His symptoms (in my opinion) seem to be increasing quite rapidly.  He's still trying to do maintenance around the house but it has me concerned.  For instance, he mowed the lawn on Thursday.  He then wanted to mow it again Friday and today (sat.)  Thank goodness it rained both days and he couldn't.  I've tried to distract him and reason with him but he gets angry and acts out.  Maybe I should just let him mow the lawn?  I know this sounds trivial, but he's so forgetful that it concerns me with him using equipment.  I'm afraid he could get hurt.  Thanks for reading this!

Comments

• Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,408
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions

Welcome to the forum.  Don’t worry about messing up here.  We are a friendly and forgiving bunch.  I wouldn’t worry about how much lawn mowing he does - except I would be worried about using a mower period.  Is it the kind that automatically shuts off if he lifts out of the seat, or lets go of the zero turn handles, etc? Is there any slope to the yard? 

I’m not familiar with dementia caused by toxic substances.  Are there additional or unique symptoms or issues due to that- or have you maybe been so busy taking care of him that questions like that haven’t been answered yet? 

• Joydean
    Joydean Member Posts: 1,498
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes