Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Question about finances

I am sure someone has a good answer.

●I hear about others on here moving money from a checking account that is a joint account to another account in just one name

● I also hear folks putting their home deed in just one name.

●Are there pitfalls with either one?

●If I die first, would this make it harder for my sil who is 2nd on dw dpoa to access an account in my name only.

● Would that be something I should do in a certain way to help protect our assets?

● I also hear others talking about putting the deed in just one name, are there pitfalls to doing this?

●I have a small amount in a 401k I did say small, I believe that is in both names. This is from when I worked in a factory. Is there a good strategy to deal with this.

On my dw dpoa her sister is nominated as executor if we both die!

Oh and Tennessee is where I B

Comments

• Crushed
    Crushed Member Posts: 1,444
    Tenth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions

Houses and accounts are not the same

protecting assets from your LO  and medicaid planning are not the same

There can be significant tax costs and liability in transferring a house   you need local advice 

For social security you should have an account for your wifes benefits with you as Representative payee

You should have a separate account in your own name  
     If your wife has NON SS income in her own name that goes into the joint account and then shifted to the sole account

An IRA is always in your own name  

Your separate account should be Transfer on death to your wives account.  Should be no problem with a POA

IM trying to get a reference of the problem of houses.  

• loveskitties
    loveskitties Member Posts: 1,078
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Likes 25 Care Reactions

For the ladies out there,