Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

That was quite a year.

JoseyWales
JoseyWales Member Posts: 602
Eighth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 25 Likes

As a teacher, I measure life in school years. Yesterday was my last workday for the school year. Today I visited DH in memory care, mowed my lawn and I'm now sitting here taking time for myself.

Last August, I started the year with 2 caregivers providing full time supervision for DH. Things went downhill quickly. I decided on placement about 6 weeks into the school year, but found out that I had bad advice from my lawyer regarding Medicaid, and I honestly wasn't ready to place him. I wish I had placed him anyway, and figured everything out later. Honestly, October - March was BAD. 

Looking back, I have no idea how I survived. I'm so glad all of you were here to support me when I was desperate. I think back to last winter and have NO IDEA how I made it through. I don't think I've even admitted to family and friends how bad it was. No one in real life that I know could even begin to understand. Again - I'm thankful for all of you.

DH has been in memory care for 11 weeks. About a month ago he began being a bit aggressive at his memory care, and the delusions and crying came back big time. He spent 10 days in a psych hospital where they adjusted his meds. I was concerned that he would be over medicated, but that doesn't seem to be a problem. His behaviors are improved, but not drastically improved. Still some crying, but no aggression. Still some resistance to care, I have helped bathe him. 

I am still visiting every other day. There have been a couple of times I stayed away 2 days, but I find that hard to do. I feel like I'm abandoning him.