Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Role of Elder Care Attorney

Kibbee
Kibbee Member Posts: 229
Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Insightfuls Reactions 25 Care Reactions
I am wondering about the role of a CELA in my situation.  
A little background:  DH's diagnosis of Major Neurocognitive Disorder stems from surgery and treatment for brain cancer over 20 years ago.  Post surgery / chemo & radiation he was left with compromised executive function which meant he could no longer work in his field (Master degreed professional).  He tried other less taxing jobs but continued to experience difficulty and ended up out of the work force for good in 2008.  There were no disability benefits available through his work, and the "suits" at Social Security deemed him not disabled so he has never had disability of any kind.  Because of this I've been working with a financial planner for many years, to build some security for our futures.  I have all of the paperwork in place there to manage our investments, including his retirement accounts.  I've also been the one to initiate and manage his SSN payments, and had no problems doing that.
I've also worked with an attorney in 2018 to set up a Revocable Trust.  All investments and our house are in the Trust.  My sisters are the Trustee & backup if anything should happen to me, and they are aware of my wishes for DH's care.  The Trust also includes DPOA for property, and DPOA for Health Care.  The DPOA for Health Care was officially activated by two physicians in 2021, after he completed testing with a neuro-psych and received his updated diagnosis.  The Trust also includes a Will, Probate Avoidance Agreement, Authorization for Disclosure of Health Information, Authorization for Final Disposition, instructions for Disposition of Personal Effects.  We also have End Of Life Directives on file with our health care providers.