Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Need Your Help - Bidet Seats

Jo C.
Jo C. Member Posts: 2,916
Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions 100 Likes

Goodness; the topic of bidet seats has become a quest.

Three very elderly amazing aunts who are sisters in three different states have got onto the topic and are asking me for information about how to choose a bidet seat of which I have no knowledge. They all want such a seat and must choose well as it is a major purchase for each of them but they want to get a very good and dependable one and are willing to spend a little extra to get a good functioning seat.

Two of the aunts are of average size; the third aunt is a very large woman in weight. They all want to buy a remote controlled bidet seat and all are capable of using a remote . . . when I called to obtain help from two local places, it took forever to get a response and then only got a sales pitch and NO really usable information.  So here I am asking all of you who have such a seat:

What has your experience been with such a seat?  Are you happy with your bidet seat?

If you are pleased with your seat, what brand did you purchase?

What would you do differently or what would you advise someone to look for?

With my Ohio aunt who is a large, heavy woman, what would be the concerns and would a seat work well for a larger person and anatomy?

Are there any cleaning issues with the seats and their cleaning "spouts"?

The aunts want to know if the seats will clean the "front" as well as the "back."  I think there are some that do, but I am flummoxed on choices and do not trust my using the online info without input from experienced users.

Electricity will probably have to be put in for the seats as none of the aunts bathrooms have an outlet near the toilet - did any of you find this to be a problem?

What else should I be paying attention to and need to know that I can pass on?