Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Newbie Here(1)

Hello everyone!

I am new here and so lost in conflicting information and suggestions. My Wife's "Memory Doctor" suggested I come here and connect with people that are going through this or have been through a spouse diagnosed with moderate to severe Alzheimer's. I don't know where to even begin preparing. on the internet I find so many conflicting articles, combine accounts, dont combine accounts, living wills and trusts, powers of attorney.....I am just flabbergasted at the amount of information, much of it is a direct contradiction to the last article I read....

So I ask the experts here, any help is appreciated and I thank you all

Comments

• Hoot619
    Hoot619 Member Posts: 342
    100 Comments 25 Care Reactions Second Anniversary
    1. Get a CELA , before you do anything else.  Others will chime in, it is very important. Hoot
  • Faith,Hope,Love
    Faith,Hope,Love Member Posts: 191
    100 Comments 5 Likes First Anniversary
    Welcome J3.  Sorry you have to be here, but you are in the right place.  I'm fairly new myself, but there are many here who can lead you and guide you in the right direction.  Do not be afraid to ask any questions you might have.  Everyone here is more than eager to share their experience and help you thru this.  Hoot is right, the first thing is to find a CELA (certified elder attorney) who can help you navigate all the financial things you'll need to consider.
  • Rescue mom
    Rescue mom Member Posts: 988
    500 Comments Fourth Anniversary 5 Likes

Yes on the CELA. The attorney is needed for things like DPOAs,trusts, living wills, etc. And remember, different states often have different laws. What you read online may work in some states, but not others.