Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Caring for DH is different from caring for other LOs

I have some experience in caring for PWD,  as  I had POA and responsibility for both my mother and my aunt at the end of their lives. And I know some of the things to expect. We had a magic stove at my mom's house that was always broken when I or another caregiver wasn't there  (We flipped the breaker when we left them alone) I am glad that we have an induction stove top that can't be turned on

n without a pot or pan on it. And my DH was much older when he began exhibiting symptoms and received his diagnosis. He has accepted not driving more graciously than I had anticipated, but feels guilty about the burden of driving all falling on my shoulders.

I try really hard to focus on the abilities rather than the losses. 

To quote Tennyson, 'though much is taken, much abides "

But sometimes I just want to cry for a while. I know you understand.

Comments

• Jella417
    Jella417 Member Posts: 31
    10 Comments
    Hello, Annen. I can’t imagine having to be a caregiver more than this one time for my DH. The diagnosis of AD is still fairly new although I have known something was wrong for a couple of years now. I am watching him like a hawk, trying to decide when he should no longer drive. He is fine driving now. How did you know when it was time to make your husband stop? I am scared about the anger and resistance I will get.
  • michiganpat
    michiganpat Member Posts: 140
    100 Comments 25 Likes 25 Care Reactions Second Anniversary