Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Another EOAD cost

I was just recognized in public by a man whose daughter I taught in 2002-2003 (5th grade). He was so excited that he called her on his cell phone to tell her and so she could talk to me. It was touching.  

DW was diagnosed 7.5 years ago. I've been home with her full-time for 6 years. This disease has not only robbed her, but has also robbed me and several classes of students from me. I have more to offer this world than full-time caregiver. I was a good teacher for 24 years. I miss making a difference. I don’t want to seem arrogant, but I was good at my job. This disease has so many hidden costs. 

Comments

• Crushed
    Crushed Member Posts: 1,444
    Tenth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions

Alzheimer's has been described as  the le coup de deux veuves  a fencing term for a blow that makes two widows

• John1965
    John1965 Member Posts: 104
    Eighth Anniversary 10 Comments

Thanks Crushed. You were the first to respond to my first post on this site more than six years ago. You used a version of the  “I have no shoes but you have no feet” metaphor. 

I’ve experienced and learned a lot since then. 

The hardest lesson I’ve learned, and the most difficult advice to follow: Don’t let your loved one’s feelings get in the way of practical decisions and your own well-being. I’ve spent way too much time and self trying to keep DW “happy.”  I’m finally seeking help (daycare) that should have been utilized years ago. My life has value too. 

• Just Bill
    Just Bill Member Posts: 315
    100 Care Reactions 100 Comments Second Anniversary 25 Insightfuls Reactions