Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Hitting the dog

ElCy
ElCy Member Posts: 151
Fourth Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Likes 5 Care Reactions

My sweet pup, Bob,  has an issue with his back that causes him to yelp when he poops. Last night DH screamed at Bob while he was pooping. DH then started yelling at me for not helping Bob. An hour later DH came to bed, yelled at me, Bob growled in response. DH hit Bob.

Lately when DH gets mad he actually growls as well. 

I locked myself and Bob in the guest bedroom for the night.

I know DH loves Bob but now I’m so worried. Do I need to find another home for my 12 year old 12 lb baby? 

DH does not treat are other dog this way.

Comments

• MaryG123
    MaryG123 Member Posts: 393
    100 Comments 5 Likes
    Oh I’m so sorry for all three of you ELCY.  In this post though, I’m going to speak for the dog, because I’m a veterinarian.  To answer your question directly, yes you should try to find another home for the dog, at least until your husband’s aggression is under control.  That will allow you to focus on your own safety and getting your husband treated.  Also, since your old dog is in pain, it needs medical care and pain relief.  If you can’t treat it, then I would consider humane euthanasia.  For now, please keep it in a room away from your husband and keep yourself safe too.
  • jfkoc
    jfkoc Member Posts: 3,776
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions
    Just a reminder...any abrupt cnage in behavior warrants a check for UTI.
  • Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

I second the suggestion of testing for UTI. If you have it done, please ask for a culture with it.

If there is not a UTI, it's possible that other medications would help with the aggression.