Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

TIA, a glimpse at the next stage

My husband and I walked to the post office today. On the way back he shuffled his feet more than usual, and veered off in a stumble, then I could barely walk him home. He fell on the final stair into the living room. He could not follow one simple direction (not uncommon) and his muscles were simply not working. Thankfully he fell into the memory from dog bed, and after trying to get him up I thought I would just let him rest there. (Writing that part out makes me feel like a bad person. It is a big dog! The bed is clean-ish.) It took about 45 minutes to get him up. He “sat” on the couch, leaning severely to the left, and ate finger food, drooling. After about another hour he was upright and able to stand and walk.

The nurse said it was a TIA, and to just keep mad eye on him and let her know if I needed help.

I have a Google medical degree, so consulted the literature and read that a TIA can mean a full-on stroke within days to a week. It really got my mind whirring about what the next stage will look like.

Strangely, when he was able to regain his limited ability to communicate, he was grateful for me and loving. Go figure.

I am steeling myself for what comes next.

Comments

• Quilting brings calm
    Quilting brings calm Member Posts: 2,413
    500 Likes 1000 Comments Fourth Anniversary 250 Insightfuls Reactions

A TIA can be followed by a stroke… or not.  Depends on the cause and the patient of course.  I totally get the dog bed - any port in a storm. It’s better than the floor, and the floor might be all you could  have done otherwise. We can only do what we can do and  trying to wrestle a grown man into a comfortable   chair or bed isn’t always possible. 

Try to rest now  in case the next few weeks do mean more trauma for you. 

• Joydean
    Joydean Member Posts: 1,498
    1000 Comments Third Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes