Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Need to work - can it be done from home?

Hi - I'm new to this situation. My DH has difficulty with some daily living tasks - he just can't seem to get through to the next step and gets stuck in a loop (multiple layers of clothing, bedtime routines, remembering to eat). I have a leave of absence of work that's about to end. I need health insurance myself as a diabetic and I'm 58 - so I'm depending on the job for health insurance. I may be able to work 30 hrs (full-time) from home for "most" of the time. (It's 1 hour away.) What do others do for this? Can one work from home and still care for LO? Are there more flexible remote jobs that work? My husband doesn't see a need for at-home care and I've not tried it yet. We're only married 2 years and I do want to be with him. Any ideas? 

THANKS! 

Comments

• JoseyWales
    JoseyWales Member Posts: 602
    Eighth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 25 Likes

I'm a teacher and worked from home when everything shut down for Covid almost 3 years ago.

It was NOT easy. DH didn't really think I was working, because I was home. As he continued to decline, working from home became more and more impossible. About a year ago I was working from home during a snow day, and while on video with a student DH walked out of the house and away. I had to log off with the student to go find him. That didn't go over well with the parents.

I know others here have made it work, I just couldn't.

• A. Marie
    A. Marie Member Posts: 118
    Fourth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes