Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Checking in - early October

This is my second post. I'm new to these message boards and am learning the ins-and-outs of how to post.

I took your advice and consulted with an certified elder care lawyer. It was helpful and I am now getting medical and financial POAs drafted. We also are working on revising our will and other estate paperwork as per lawyer's advice. Thank you for the input!

I've contacted an old friend whose wife died of Alzheimer's a few years ago and asked if he would be willing to talk sometime. He said yes. I've also got a list of caregiver support groups in the area, but feel its too early to attend because DH has not been diagnosed.  Is it too early?

A few weeks ago, DH and I went to lunch with a friend, who pulled me aside afterwards to ask about DH, saying that she had noticed his struggles with memory during this lunch and one time before. It was jolting to hear someone else observe and comment on what was happening but it also confirmed my observations. The friend asked what she could do to support and reported that she had experience with others with cognitive issues -  a good ally to have in all this. I said to please continue to include DH in activities. This friend has since taken DH out for lunch again and reported back. It felt good to have some support.

Here are other things I've noticed in addition to short term memory issues:

1) He struggles with making any decision, often deciding one thing then contradicting himself a few sentences later. He usually ends a discussion by that he will do whatever I want. It's hard to hear this after a lifetime of collaboration. I'm learning that I will need to make all the decisions as we move forward but for now I'm still asking his opinion.