Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

What not to say when touring

ElCy
ElCy Member Posts: 151
Fourth Anniversary 10 Comments 5 Likes 5 Care Reactions
I’m just beginning to look at memory care. Is there anything about DH behaviors I should not say?

Comments

• MaryG123
    MaryG123 Member Posts: 393
    100 Comments 5 Likes
    First, I have not gone through this yet.  But reading stories here, I wouldn’t say much of anything, just ask them questions, and judge potential suitability from their answers.  They will do an evaluation before placement anyway.  I’m sure others will have more specific answers for you.
  • M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,726
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Elcy, it is true that they will do an in-person assessment in the psych facility before making a decision.  My recent experience (also in the greater Nashville area) is that most places are eager for customers/clients.  I could argue this either way.  My first choice facility would not accept my partner because they thought she would be difficult and they (of course) said they had too many other difficult residents at the time (but I think they could always use that as an excuse).  On the other hand:  I could make an argument for being up front about your concerns.  They are going to have information from the psych facility, and if they accept him but then encounter unacceptable/aggressive behaviors, they will have no hesitation to send him back to psych and/or expel him.  From what you have written, you may be the trigger for a lot of his behaviors, and they may not be directed at anyone else (one can hope, anyway).  In their paperwork, most facilities will have written policies about what will get someone expelled, I would certainly ask to see that (it will likely be in the packets they will give you).  

Good luck.  Do keep us posted, and my heart goes out to you.

• toolbeltexpert