Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Best Alz. Wander GPS monitoring service

Does anyone use Medical Guardian

or Angelsense GPS locator wandering

monitoring? If so are either any good ?

Thanks for any help or assistance in this

matter, my wife has just started wandering.

Ron

Comments

• Jo C.
    Jo C. Member Posts: 2,916
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 100 Insightfuls Reactions 100 Likes

Hello Ron and a very warm welcome to you.   Can you tell us about your wife'ss dementia and your living situation and also her wandering challenges, that would be helpful.

I have no experience with the two entities you mention, you will get other input perhaps from those who have used either those two companies or perhaps a different one. If we know more about your wife and your situation, we can perhaps be of more assistance.

J.

• Ron67
    Ron67 Member Posts: 4
    First Comment

J.

My wife was diagnosed with Alz.

1.5 yrs. ago. My 1st experience with

wandering was Tuesday and see was

located in the neighborhood 2 hrs. later

I am the sole caregiver, son is 500 miles

away. Amanda is 75 and I am 73.

Hope this is an appropriate history.

Just hunting for a good GPS company

(carrier) for wanders tracking.

Respectfully,

Ron

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • MaryG123
    MaryG123 Member Posts: 393
    100 Comments 5 Likes

Hi Ron,

I can’t speak from experience, but here is a link with a good discussion about trackers.

https://www.alz.org/help-support/caregiving/safety/technology-101

If she takes something with her, like a purse, phone, or specific shoes, you can put a tracker, like the Tile brand on that object.  If she will wear a bracelet, you can at least have an ID on her with your contact info.  I’m so sorry this happened.  It must have been very frightening.

• Jo C.