Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Bathing(4)

I've been assisting DW for several years now with bathing and hair washing.  However, just in last couple of months, she no longer will get in the bathtub or shower.  I know she no longer recognizes me as her husband (now just a roommate), so I thought her newly found modesty was the problem.  I started getting her hair washed at the hair salon, and she cooperated.  I tried that today, but she wouldn't allow it.  So, DW is desperately in need of a bath and hair wash, and I'm at a loss.  It's not that she is unable, she is just unwilling.  She is 60 with EO, and her physical health is still good (if not a little smelly.)

Any helpful experiences you're willing to share would be appreciated.  Best regards to all.

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

There are several things you could try.

1. Make the bathroom as inviting as you can. Pretty towels and washcloths, make the room plenty warm for her (not necessarily for you), use Alexa or another device to play soothing music that she might like, and try to make it seem like a spa or special treat for her. You might even try some relaxing aroma therapy.