Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Dementia advice fatigue

I know they mean well, but I have had just about enough of book recommendations, articles that I should read, and videos I need to see.

The Titanic metaphor is pretty tired, but it's a pretty good fit for how I experience my life with my wife.  We were sailing along pretty well, heading for what we thought was a better future.  Then we hit a life changing obstacle.  The end is coming, albeit very slowly, and I have plenty of time to experience every glorious moment of it while friends and family are offering books on boat building, and swimming, and offering suggestions that I should bundle up, because 'it might get pretty cold'.

Like I said, a tired metaphor.  Sorry about that, but seriously....just make them stop.

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,726
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions
    RB, would it help to have a list of practical ways they could help to counter with?  Such as:  great, I'll look at that, why don't you come stay with her Saturday afternoon so I can go play golf and then get groceries on my way home?  Or, great, why don't you bring it over Sunday and bring dinner, too?  That would be nice,.....
  • Ernie123
    Ernie123 Member Posts: 152
    Fifth Anniversary 100 Comments 5 Care Reactions 5 Insightfuls Reactions