Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Placement before talking with Elder Care lawyer

A facility I'm considering has available space. The earliest appointment I can get with an ECL is the end of January. If the situation warrants, is it better to wait for consultation with lawyer  or proceed with placement options. As best I can tell care will be private pay. Wish there was more available information to help.

Comments

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

I am not a lawyer and can't offer that information. What I can say if it's time to place and you can do it I wouldn't wait especially if it's your number 1 choice. One thing I learned about the money thing is whether its joint or not, and that goes by whose name is on the account, if he has a seperate account in just his name and you can accessit i would use that fund first.I think it matters more to see a cela if your going the Medicaid route. I do not know if you have all the other necessary documents. Dpoa with hippa clause ect. I had seen a cela and thought that going the Medicaid route was my first choice till I learned it really limited my choice of where I could place my dw, then plan b kicked in I have my house listed for sale and if things work out I will be able to fund her care for another decade and still find a small house near where she is.

I can always go back to Medicaid if the money runs low but that would be plan c.

I will be interested in what the lawyer folks have to say, I do know that they will want to know where you live before they can give you any help as things differ state to state.

This is never easy and I hope it goes well for you.

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions