Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Grief/ Homecare/ Virtual Support Groups

Hi Everyone,

I introduced myself a couple of months ago and then never came back.  I've been in overdrive trying my best to prepare for this change in our lives.  I've made some progress, but mostly I am in a waiting game which I am not good at.  I feel so helpless.

DH received an original diagnosis of possible Vascular Dementia with Alzheimers.  We waited months to get the Alz testing done then several weeks for the results.  We've been sent the results - we now know that he does not have Alz, just VD.  But we still have yet to speak to the doctor.  We waited weeks for our appointment, just to have it moved out another week.  Sigh.

In the mean time, DH is slowly slipping.  He had his first episodes of delirium a few days ago.  Three times that day.  My beautiful, brave husband is now a frightened child and I am grieving. 

I've been called back to work 2 days per week and need to hire homecare but can't afford much. Because of my salary we don't qualify for Medical and IHHS.  Choosing an agency is daunting - is anyone good enough to take care of my husband in my home when I am not here?  

My therapist wants to me to get into a virtual or phone support group but I can't find one anywhere.

Frustrated and grief stricken - suggestions are welcome.  

Thank you,

Marci

Comments

• Ed1937
    Ed1937 Member Posts: 5,084
    Sixth Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

Marci, look toward the top of the page for "Solutions". Click on that, then select "Community Resources". Click on "Community Resource finder". Then "Programs and events". Then you can enter your zip code to see which groups are available now.

If you don't find anything you want, come back here. You will get a lot of support here, even though it is not local. I'm sorry it's so hard.

• RCT
    RCT Member Posts: 54