Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Also starting to help in an association

French
French Member Posts: 445
100 Comments Second Anniversary

Hi everybody

I read that Ed began to imply in an association, me too ! I think I am not able to help others by speaking with them. It is too difficult to continue to speak about this desease. I wanted to help in another manner.

1 month ago the association we followed since my partner diagnosis (and that helped a lot when I had te repatriate him) called me because they need the help from somebody used to write projects so that to obtain money (I'm a researcher and spend my time to research... money for my team). The other board members in the associations are psychiatrist, geriatrist, nurse... they are not used with such work.

The project: 2 houses for 8 EOAD people each, with carpe diem method. sorry, it's Canada but in french https://alzheimercarpediem.com/lapproche-carpe-diem/lapproche-carpe-diem/

You remember how finding a place for my partner was impossible here. We really need special houses for EOAD.

I participate to forums, seminars on inclusive housing so that to understand how we can build these houses. The main difficulty is the financial and legal aspects. We candidated to a grant and obtained the first place. We now have money to pay somebody that will have time to start to build the project with us (we are all volounteers and working). Now we have to find a place, money to by it, and then the houses, a company to manage them... Our municipality is interested in the project and will certainly help with a plot of land in a new district. The hunt for sponsors has begun ! This is huge (it will take at least 4 years), but also very motivating.

Almost 6 months now. I begin to be better, but he is still always in my mind.