Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

By LSUshad - Is it time for MC?

LSUshad
LSUshad Member Posts: 20
10 Comments 5 Care Reactions
This is my first post. My DW was diagnosed about a year ago. She had been showing symptoms for awhile. She is 69, a retired school psychologist. I am 70. For several years I have been handling all of the financial, tax and home maintenance issues. I do almost all the cleaning and cooking. I have been giving her her medications for a couple of years now. She used do most of these things herself, or we did them together. Now, there are times when she is confused about where she is and who I am. She often thinks I am a professional caregiver. She has asked me if I am married. A few times she has asked me my name. On occasion she feels afraid of me. At other times she wonders if it is ok for us to sleep together (we have been married for 48 years). She often speaks of wanting to go home. She frequently wants to know what our plans are for the day. I assist her with dressing and sometimes with showering at bedtime. After driving off late one night she was stopped by the local police. I took her keys and eventually we sold her car. She tends to exhibit sundowning behaviors in the afternoon.

I have a memory care center near our daughter that has accepted her. I live about a hour away from the facility. She has long term care insurance so that is a blessing. I am posting this because I would like to hear from others who are experiencing (or have experienced) this transition to MC. Based on the symptoms and behaviors I have described, is it time for transition to MC? Thanks so much for your thoughts.

Comments

• Pat6177
    Pat6177 Member Posts: 442
    100 Likes Third Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions