Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Help with getting spouse to appointments

Hello, I am new to this, need help, would love some input on something.

how do I get my husband to go to appointments, sometimes he will, but

there are times he will not, says things like the last time he was there was not treated right but thats no so, has a problem with trusting them at times. There are times we will be on our way there and sudden, I don't want to go, can"t it be closer

Comments

• M1
    M1 Member Posts: 6,723
    1,500 Care Reactions 1,500 Likes 5000 Comments 1,000 Insightfuls Reactions

Welcome to the forum; I think this is a pretty common problem. My partner did it too (she is now in MC) and I think it is part of a general phenomenon of withdrawing from public life as the dementia progresses. She would cancel appointemtns at the last minute and then not remember why and not know how to reschedule. I think you just have to use "fiblets"--harmless lies--to get him to go, and you almost certainly have to go with him regardless. Things like, "Oh I forgot to tell you they called, and it has to be today because he's going out of town" or "if we don't keep this appointmetn there's a cancellation charge" or even "the insurance will be cancelled if we don't keep this appointmetn." That said--there is also a time to get rid of appointmetns that are not clearly needed any more. we dropped a lot of specialty care as time went on. Now she is in memory care and does not even go for routine dental cleanings any more.

• Jeanne C.
    Jeanne C. Member Posts: 805
    500 Comments 250 Care Reactions 250 Likes 100 Insightfuls Reactions