Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Month living near his facility concludes tomorrow

Nowhere
Nowhere Member Posts: 272
Fourth Anniversary 100 Likes 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments

What I’ve learned:

A. My visits bring him smiles.

B. I am smiling more interacting with him and getting to know his peers better.,

C. Experiencing less anxiety and depression knowing how he is physically, mentally, socially, emotionally, And in assisting him and his peers.

D. Quiet residents (especially those in wheel chairs) are unengaged for hours on end.

E. Being a retired teacher, I especially enjoy and value resident fortitude in the face of their cognitive challenges.

F. I see creativity in each individual.

G. He gives me a hug goodbye even at the locked facility door and says, “Don’t worry- I’m not going to push through”! (Truthfully I’d feel more assured not knowing this is what he’s thinking).

What I’m going to do next:

1. I listed my home for sale this past week. It’s an active market. Four showings today!
  2. Have committed to moving near him so I can visit whenever.
  3. Have spoken to Indianapolis Area for Aging and am actively exploring moving him, and placing him and my new home in the same town as our daughter. Many factors need to come together for this to happen and it’s looking feasible! Ed, thanks for your encouragement last year!

Comments

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes