Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

2nd Attempt....

Tried to start a new discussion earlier this morning - no joy.

So here's 2nd attempt.

I have a 'discussion' listed on my profile but can't access...not sure what I'm doing wrong here.

Comments

• toolbeltexpert
    toolbeltexpert Member Posts: 1,583
    Sixth Anniversary 1000 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

Good morning dusty I know this site isn't intuitive. I found part of your first post and as you said it is in your profile which isn't set to public in your privacy settings so I couldn't read it all. your second topic is viewable. You'll get the hang of it. I am still learning it.

Stewart

• dusty 48
    dusty 48 Member Posts: 9
    First Comment

Thanks, Stewart. Still trying to get settings correct - even I can't see my first discussion now. Not sure this site is for me...

My wife was recently diagnosed as having dementia and about a stage 3-4 level. My understanding is quite limited, but as the Doc (neurologist) explained it doesn't really matter if its dementia or Alzheimer's - the treatment is the same. And Alzheimer's is in fact, a subset of dementia. Right?

She's on Memantine and Donepezil now and tolerating that well. She's doing better and sleeping better too.

So we'll keep on and manage as well as possible.

• storycrafter
    storycrafter Member Posts: 273
    Ninth Anniversary 100 Comments 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes

Hi Dusty. Regarding diagnosis; I have a couple thoughts on that. It depends on how your wife is doing. If all is going fairly well that's good.

There are many types of dementias and it can make a difference in how they are treated/medicated. Lewy Bodies and FTD come to mind. They can be especially difficult behaviorally and some meds used for other dementias is contraindicated for them.

It can be worth experimenting with which drugs are most helpful depending on what's going on with your loved one.

Wishing you well, Helen