Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

New Here

Hello,
My mental health therapist finally gave me enough of a push to help me take this step.
I have read a number of discussion threads and it appears I found a good place.
I'm 62 and my DH is 67. We are a second marriage and have been together 16 years .
We both are retired, him, because he had to and me well I decided to be with him during this. He is a psychiatrist and I am a mental health therapist. We both knew something was "off" about him.
He underwent testing over two years and both times it came back dementia.
So here I am, feeling very alone and sad.

My husband has very early stage symptoms, stage three. Very few people even know this, additionally his children, despite my talking to them, deny anything is wrong.
There is a new symptom. He is argumentative and agitated.
He gets frustrated and won't let me help. I sometimes feel like Alice in dementia land.
We are currently on what in my heart I know, is our last vacation. We lived to travel. But this is nothing but heart ache.
I know this is a horrible long road.
I guess I just needed to vent.

Comments

• Iris L.
    Iris L. Member Posts: 4,306
    Legacy Membership 2500 Comments 500 Likes 250 Care Reactions

Welcome! Do you know about anosognosia?

Avoid frustration. Make his and your lives easy! Read a lot of threads and post a lot. This will help.

Iris

• RickM
    RickM Member Posts: 115
    Seventh Anniversary 100 Care Reactions 100 Comments 25 Likes

Yasadora,

I am so sorry for you. I’m glad that you have some understanding of what is ahead. It’s difficult and different for all of us. As Iris said hang out here and read lots of threads. Put together a support network. Get as much information as you can deal with and figure out how you are going to survive this. It’s not something you can hide or, frankly, want to hide. Hopefully his kids will come on board. You’ll need them.