Have any questions about how to use the community? Check out the Help Discussion.

Now We Add Cancer To The Mix

Rocky2
Rocky2 Member Posts: 133
100 Comments 25 Care Reactions 25 Likes First Anniversary

DW has EOAD and is a type 1 diabetic. A few weeks ago I brought some concerns to her doctor who referred her to a an OB/GYN. A biopsy was done and resulted in a diagnosis of cervical cancer. We are scheduled for the initial appointment with the Oncologist tomorrow. I expect to have to make some difficult decisions about the cancer treatment. I don't want to subject DW to chemo since she is already dealing with early stage 6 EOAD. Do any of you have experience with AD and chemo?

Tom

Comments

• Joe C.
    Joe C. Member Posts: 944
    Fifth Anniversary 500 Comments 100 Care Reactions 100 Likes

Rocky, I am so sorry you are dealing with cancer on top of EOAD. I have no experience but I have considered what I would do if DW developed cancer or some other ailment that involved aggressive treatment because I do not believe she could tolerate chemo, radiation or major surgery. I know you will have some difficult decision ahead and I will keep you both in my thoughts & prayers.

• harshedbuzz
    harshedbuzz Member Posts: 4,361
    Seventh Anniversary 2500 Comments 500 Insightfuls Reactions 500 Likes

Rocky2-

I am sorry.

Have you been able to speak with her neurologist about this? They may have suggestions or opinions worth hearing. It's always a good idea to make a list of your questions to bring with you.

She may be in a place in her dementia progression that aggressive treatment would be inappropriate given her current life expectancy-- this wouldn't be how you would want to want her to spend her remaining time in treatment and feeling poorly.